Convesations with Mom

Every since the book came out my mom and I have been in periodic conversations about our relationship. She insists that I was an angry defiant child who never mined or took her suggestions. She is right. She just however learned why, and in a way chapter one of the book revealed it to me as well.

Some woman (I know who she is) walked up to my mom in church, and asked her if she was my mom, and after my mom said yes, she kept walking.

Although I have had struggles with my mom, some which remain to be understood, I love her and do not wish for people to read the book and judge me, or my family. I wrote it as God lead me to so that you could look at the relationships around you.

I just read an article on Ashley Judd, and for the first time I get it. Ashley Judd is the younger sibling of Wynonna, and Naomi is the mom.

Even in the interview it painted a “piss-poor-mom” kind-of image to Naomi. I don’t know her and haven’t read the book, but writing a memoir is not easy.

And to be honest, I have only read two that I remember besides getting to the molestation scene of “I know why the caged bird sings” and putting it down.

I read Asha Bandele’s The Prisoner’s Wife, which seem to intrigue me because I was volunteering as she did offering creative writing/poetry workshops in a prison in Maryland. I however was not dating anyone in prison. Its not really my thing. Neither is the muslim religion but, the book was absolutely awesome in my opinion. It was a true love story.

The other memoir I read was Benny Hinn’s memoir and then after I fell in complete love with he and his family, his wife filed for divorce. I am still angered, heartbroken, and unapologetic about my disdain for this decision, but I’m not married to Benny Hinn.

I want my mom to be proud of me still, after she finishes the book, not heart broken because she found out some things she didn’t know or because I spoke out about some things that she may not approve of me sharing.

The aim, is not for you to see my mom, or me, but for you to reexamine your personal relationships and judge only yourself to see if you are being the best man, woman, parent, child, friend, partner, teammate, co-worker, lover that God has called you to be.

So, I hope this discourages people from walking up to my mom, or my family for that matter for those of you who know them. I’m not really that concerned about them, God will take care of it, but I do deeply care for my mom’s heart and I want her to be healed throughout this process, and not feel burdened.

Give her space and apply the book to you. People all over the free world will read this book and don’t know my mom, or my family. Pretend that we are some family in Africa and you picked up the book in the bookstore.

I pray that it ultimately is a really good book to read with a call to action as A Journey to Love!

With Love and appreciation,
Ressurrection

About Ressurrection

Ressurrection Graves is a Child Sexual Abuse Grooming Expert and H.E.A.L.E.R. (Healer, Educator, Activist, Life Skills Expert, Empowerment Speaker, Relationship Mentor) Her website reaches readership in 188 countries. She is available for national speaking engagements, radio and television interviews. She can be reached at: 202.717.7377 or send your request to: ressurrection dot wordpress at yahoo dot com or comment on http://www.ressurrection.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What did you think of this Article? Was it Helpful?

