Desi: A Poem to My Mother from Heaven

It was a morning that I’ll never forget. A picture of our high school mascot was on the television and attached to his inmate mug shot, a story that would break my heart. He was accused of murdering two women whom he was in a love triangle with, and his daughter. It was a tragedy for the entire community as many of us knew all of the women that were involved. I thought he was a cool brotha from a distance. I gave warning to several women about him but my warnings were not enough. A girl that I considered a little sister was one of the victims, and his daughter Desi. Below is the poem that I read for her funeral ten years ago. She would have been fifteen years old (the same age as my daughter.)

 

DESI

It would be much too easy for me to mourn and weep-

You are free and have a sleep that is eternal.

Inspiration lies in the smile you’d give,

when we sang For You I Will.

 

I will pour out water from tear ducts, so fears will get dealt with.

I felt it so deeply, walked on rivers that graced me with reflections of you in a crowd;

shouting for Jesus to come down, so our souls would share worship.

Yes our Lord is calling for a people who love him to lead,

By his blood we are freed.

(Desi speaking)

Mommy in sacrifice, he chose me.

The greater reward is the latter.

Nothing on earth can Bling like his rings of righteousness,

that would bring joy to darkness so that light can come in.

And many of your mourn;

Hearts torn with uncertainty and pain.

CRY, CRY, CRY until the tears themselves

can build the strength to walk away and become new again.

Let out your pain with cheers of praise,

raise a standard against all odds, ‘cause the devil, he can whoop God.

And, I stand between spaces- faceless now.

Just tasteless but there is food for miles- I’m okay- by grace I’m saved. And someday you’ll know that in heaven I await you.

I am resting that you too will come.

I may be five, but this situation is bigger

than the circumstance and the reasons.

It is time for a new season.

For folks who believe, to put faith to their beliefs and….

For people to understand what love is before words exchange, in all kinds of relationships.

I am not here because my purpose is fulfilled,

to bring you together.

You’ve been given free will but you

determine whether you serve God or man.

I love you all, I am definitely doing well up here,

and if it be true, that I Desi was a part of helping change,

then I would die again and again for God.

That’s love unconditional, I love you Ma.

January 26, 2002

Written By: Ressurrection Graves

Published in the book: I AM… Just the Introduction… Ressurrection Graves

2003

ISBN: 1-4134-3109-7

Available Online at http://www.Amazon.com and http://www.Xlibris.com

About Ressurrection

Ressurrection Graves is a Child Sexual Abuse Grooming Expert and H.E.A.L.E.R. (Healer, Educator, Activist, Life Skills Expert, Empowerment Speaker, Relationship Mentor) Her website reaches readership in 188 countries. She is available for national speaking engagements, radio and television interviews. She can be reached at: 202.717.7377 or send your request to: ressurrection dot wordpress at yahoo dot com or comment on http://www.ressurrection.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What did you think of this Article? Was it Helpful?

