Silence is Violence: End Child Sexual Abuse

Martin Luther King Jr. In Jail

We will have to repent in this generation not merely for the hateful words and actions of the bad people but for the appalling silence of the good people.
– “Letter from Birmingham Jail,” April 16, 1963,

Martin Luther King Jr.

We cannot expect for injustice to seek its own deliverance. A rock should not cry out for you. I am a christian and I do believe that it is absolutely wrong for a christian person to stand outside of an abortion clinic and protest. Jesus’ answer was love, not emotional abuse. People are faced with all kinds of reasons that they are not able to have children, often doctor recommended. You will not know a person’s reasoning for their choice by standing outside with a hateful chant about how they will go to hell.

If you believe in heaven and hell, that is fine but everyone does not, and your witness tarnishes christianity as a whole when you abuse people with your words. It is a form of spiritual abuse.

On the other hand, when we see an injustice that plagues our communities, and do not say anything we are allowing what I believe to be the “enemy” or a negative force to wreak havoc in an environment that the spirit world understands silence will remain.

To bring this home, if I am a christian and I will stand outside of an abortion clinic to declare that what someone is doing is murder or sin, I am just as dishonorable to stand within the church walls and watch a member of the church body, especially leadership (pastor), to molest children and psychologically damage them.

Silence is Violence! That is my chant, and my decree. And, I believe that to end child sexual abuse, we must uproot it from every angle, and dismantle leadership who have molested children for many years. What people do not seem to understand is that 64% of perpetrators have a job. Predators are not sitting in the woods some where 90% of the time. They are people who get jobs to work with your children; who become your neighbor-friend on purpose; who volunteer to pick up your children or babysit them while you and your husband or wife get quality time.

Silence is Violence. Martin Luther King Jr. has a point to imply in his quote that good people who keep silent are no better than the bad people with a loud voice. We are not oppressed, we are not in fear. We stand up and we speak loud. We overcome and we join hands NOW!

Ressurrection Graves, Author and Speaker; Advocate Child Sexual Abuse

Subscribe ——-> www.ressurrection.wordpress.com

About Ressurrection

Ressurrection Graves is a Child Sexual Abuse Grooming Expert and H.E.A.L.E.R. (Healer, Educator, Activist, Life Skills Expert, Empowerment Speaker, Relationship Mentor) Her website reaches readership in 188 countries. She is available for national speaking engagements, radio and television interviews. She can be reached at: 202.717.7377 or send your request to: ressurrection dot wordpress at yahoo dot com or comment on http://www.ressurrection.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Child Sexual Abuse and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Silence is Violence: End Child Sexual Abuse

  1. You remind me of a quote which says:

    “all it takes for evil to triumph is for good men (and women) to do nothing”.

    I agree that silence is violence and I also think that compassion is spoken by words of Love and not through utterences of comdemnation. We cannot restore people with words of condemnation that destroys a persons self-esteem. They need support and encouragement and guidance to make well informed decisions. Jesus looks at the heart of people … women who go to abortion clincs as you said have their circumstances but sometimes we often times look only at the act and not at the entirety of the situation that brings them to that place. If we really want to be effective in evangelizing the truth, it is better to give them words of truth such as educating women on the psychological, physical and spiritual repurcussions of abortion after the fact, to give them information that can guide them to make well-informed decisions because not every woman who attends these clinics goes in there with a mind of “wanting to have an abortion”. I think that there are better ways of ministering the message than parking right in front of a clinic and pointing fingers…that kind of gives me a pharisee feel of how we are dealing with the sin of abortion. I don’t think Jesus would have handled the topic of abortion that way.

    I also agree in that spiritual leaders who abuse their members sexually, physically, verbally and spiritually (by manipulation) should be removed from their stations. The Body is sick when it’s members are suffering the disease that lies within. Removing those things that are harming the body is the right thing to do in order for the Body of Christ in a church to be healed, restored and fully recovered in the right mind and in the fear of God. The problem is is that these things continue because people lack the FEAR of GOD and many think that they are getting away with such atrocious acts and don’t seem to think that their sinful actions won’t bring any divine judgement and that God is blind to injustice….how wrong the church is to think this way. I have so many thoughts after reading but yes I agree with your line of thinking here, Res. We have a long way until people realize that such injustice prevails because we allow for it by our inaction.

    Stay blessed Res,
    Sherline :)

  2. I have to diasgree with the abortion. When I was young, I used to stand outside those abortion clinics. First of all, not all the people out there are there chant murder is a sin. Many of us are there to pray for the souls of both the unborn child and the mother to be. In fact, in the Bible , it says “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb”. Second of all, there are other church group members who go out there to offer the women help so they don’t have to abort. They are doing the Christian thing by giving up their time and energy to simply be there with these women not only through their pregnancy but the rest of their lives like Jesus. In fact, some of those women who offer these services were once on the another side. Glad you are trying to break silence over molestation and etc, but please do not pass judgement without knowing the facts at least.

  3. Kasandra says:

    First of all, I used to stand outside of these abortion clinics when I was young with my youth group. We did not pass judgement on these women or called them murderers. But we did pray and sing for their souls and especially of those of the unborn baby. Also in the bible it says “I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb.” So I think there is a pretty strong case for killing/aborting a child. That is not judgement that is a fact that abortion is destroying the soul of an unborn child. Second, i remember a group of women from another church there doing great work that was VERY Christ like. They actually sacrificed their time , energy, and resources by offering to support these women not only through the pregnancy but also the rest of their lives. I truly believe it too because some of those women volunteers were once women who were about to enter the abortion clinic. Lastly, Christ did not show His compassion to us by saying committing sin or doing the wrong thing is ok. Rather, he gave up himself so we would not have to choose sin or a soul-destroying action. For that reason , i considered those women volunteers’ action TRULY Christian for they offer themselves up so not another life should be taken. I think its great you want to break silence about molestation, but that and abortion are not same thing. In fact, if we keep quiet about abortion and the way it destroys souls then we are no better than those who do not stand against abuse. They both destroy spirits/souls. thank you for letting me share,
    God Bless

    • First of all, you can’t start a sentence with first of all and end it with “God Bless” without it being clear that you were offended. lol

      I am a christian as I mentioned in the text. I grew up going out “two by two” to witness to people on their doorsteps. As far as your comments, they really are not relevant to the point of the post but I feel the need to address them because I do not want others to be confused by my meaning.

      I NEVER said ABORTION and MOLESTATION were the same thing. What I said was very clear that you can not stand outside and protest for one, and then go back into the church and keep silent.

      Secondly, as far as abortion goes, you said that you would “stand outside of the clinics and pray,” well, God is everywhere and you could honestly pray at home and hold the same effectiveness. When you stand outside of the abortion clinic it is implied that you are condemning them for their choice.

      I have NEVER had an abortion so be clear that this is not why I am sharing this. I do however have an intimate relationship with God and I know that standing outside of an abortion clinic is not showing compassion. Also compassion has an action to it but I don’t have time to go into that in this post – maybe I can write a post specifically about that. I actually wrote an entire chapter entitled “Compassion” in my memoir.

      As for people going to a clinic, you have no idea why they are getting an abortion, and the truth is it is not your choice to decide whether they have a child. You can pray at home each night keeping people face with that decision on your prayer list but standing outside of an abortion clinic says condemnation and not conviction.

      By this, I am not saying that I think abortion is right, but I do disagree that people may think that evangelism is standing outside of an abortion clinic to protest in any manner against women who may have been raped whose child was suggested by a medical physician to be aborted. The choice that they make is between them and God. And, whatever their choice, be it sinful or not they will have to take that up with the father.

      My last point is that there are many people who may not know God and going into an environment where they are told that they are going to hell may be less effective than you think.

      My point was not about comparing molestation to abortion. My point was holding EVERYONE responsible for molestation as ANYTHING that they protest. Period.

      Think about it. You just said that you were with a youth group that would go outside of an abortion clinic to pray, right? You sang for their souls. You think there is a “pretty strong case for killing/aborting a child.” Now, as strongly as you feel about that, how many people do you know that have been sexually assaulted, date raped, molested by someone that they knew? Think for a moment. Look around you, open your eyes. Have you went to the police on their behalf? Have you protested against the injustice or keep it quiet? This is the point of the blog, not what you shared.

      I hope that I have clarified things better for you. Peace, Res

  4. nikky44 says:

    Silence is violence, so true!!!

  5. Listen, as a person who has been molested, I would prefer if someone not compare the abortion issue to molestation. Why would you bring up abortion if you were not trying to create some parallel between the two of them? I think it is interesting that you chose to skip the part about the women who did try to help them. Second, in regards to abortion, it is not only about the women but also the unborn babies. Who will stand for them? Who will speak for them? What about their souls? I truly believe compassion and solidarity was truly shown for those unborn children. Just like I felt so alone and persecuted due to the molestation and even after telling someone,the same applies to the unborn babies. We can’t choose to stand for some and not others. In regards to protestation, I tell my story to others when needed or called to so they can start their own path to healing. Right now, I am volunteering , in Africa , for a year, working with children who have gone through the wringer but are looking to improve their lives. Although I disagree with your approach to this message, please believe as a person who has been abused I am doing my best to do my part. In regards to praying in front of the abortion clinic, what do you think the crucifixion is about? It easily could be seen as condemnation, but it is not. Because right there we all see what are sins have done to this innocent man. But love and compassion shown through mystery ways we know he came to save and not condemn us. When we see our brothers or sisters doing wrong we are supposed to stand and say something not out of condemnation but out of concern/compassion. Honestly, based on your statement , I do not see how this article is truly about silence is violence. How is it any different from a mother who realizes that one of her family members has been molesting her CHILD, but chooses not to go to the police out of concern for her entire family? Can’t someone say that her decision is between herself and God? She is supposedly acting out of ‘the best interest’ of her family. Let me be clear, I went through a similar situation myself when I was young. Lastly, I can still be offended by your comment and still say God Bless. Why not? I do not hate you and I wish you well. I believe people can be offended or disagree with someone and still say God Bless and mean it. That is life; that is love.

  6. gigoid says:

    Reblogged this on gigoid and commented:
    Another post with a strong, needs-to-be-seen message from Resurrection Graves blog…. please read and share….

What did you think of this Article? Was it Helpful?

