My Journey To Chocolate Responsibly: One Hundred Days Without Chocolate

Preparation for Ministry

I wrote a post awhile back about Sundi Jo. She is a woman who was sexually abused as a child and began to eat as a way of literally building a wall to keep out attackers. After weighing 330lbs. and healing from her childhood, she decided to lose the weight. As walls came down within her soul, she wanted this reflection in her physical body. So, she stepped up to the plate and lost 145lbs.

And Chocolate, I Love You!

I cautioned in the article that it was for people who felt that they needed to lose weight. Of myself I said, “Some people gain the weight and haven’t made it a priority to get it off – like me! I am happy with myself and I love myself. I know that when I am ready I will do it.”

Well ladies and gentlemen, that day has come. I have an addiction to chocolate. I will never stop eating chocolate altogether. However, I need to learn to eat chocolate responsibly. Chocolate is not bad for you, it is just like anything else. If you choose to over indulge this can be detrimental to your well-being. If you commit to dark chocolate (70% Cacao) or better, then the Chocolate is actually very good for you.

I have not eaten beef since 1999, and I have not eaten chicken since 2009. I still eat Turkey although I’m getting tired of it. I mean really, how many different ways can you eat Turkey? I still eat seafood too.

I am not going to tell you how much I weigh. That is against the rules but I will say that I am ready to take my weight loss journey more seriously. As I have mentioned in previous blogs as of late, my husband is such a tremendous supporter that it really propels me into greatness.

You May Also Like: Why Losing Weight Makes Me Want An Oreo Cookie

All of those fantastic thoughts that I have in my head I want to push myself to act on. If you have followed my work at all, you know that I am resilient, and relentless. I make mistakes that I learn from and I share whatever I understand to support others in achieving their desired personal and professional success.

However, I do believe that there is a reason that God would be creative enough to make a woman from the rib of a man. I believe that it signifies that we are called to be connected to one another in life. This applies to all relationships with our spousal relationship being the most intimate.

Our relationships with our parents and families really do impact us, and if we can find no support and nurturing love we do not tap into our greatness. Oprah will be the first to admit that her success as a person can be attributed to the love and support of Gail and Stedman, while her professional support is attributed to the team that God put in place around her. No man is an island, but there are many times in life where we may feel that we are the island, on the island alone without a living thing in sight.

Chocolate Cake with Roses

With that said, there are major changes that I have accepted in my life, and it is the natural and spiritual order of things that I apply wisdom and step into my full potential. My husband was the missing link for me personally.

His love and support can not be described, it even confused me at first because I’m not used to it. But what is true is that I have my daughter, and my husband who believe in my giftings, callings, visions and are looking forward to the manifestation of what they see in me.

Food Addiction

Honestly, I eat Chocolate for enjoyable reasons. I do have certain foods that I eat as an emotional eater. I think everyone has something that their body craves when they are emotional. All you have to do is pay attention to what or how you eat when you’re sad. It is not rocket science, I promise. And, it may change depending on what is available to you.

I stop eating chicken because I felt that I was addicted to it, and eating it emotionally when I was sad. I did this in spurts but during my singleness if I was sexually frustrated or needing quality time, I would go to the carry-out and get some wings. This was during a time when I lived in DC.

In 2009, when my massage center was closing, and I was losing my home to foreclosure, and was still mourning a relationship gone wild, I started eating chicken in the morning! Maybe that is normal for you depending on what part of the country you or your parents are from, but for me to eat fast food breakfast chicken sandwiches, this was not good.

A natural doctor did some lectures at a church service I attended. He started flinging a Chicken around the pulpit and he said, “Why does this Chicken look so healthy?” He continued, “What do they use to preserve something that is dead? What do they do to human bodies when they want to preserve it?” Once he said that Chicken had Formaldehyde in it, I was done. I have never eaten another piece of chicken.

In order for something dead to be preserved they have to pump it with the same stuff they would your body for your funeral. Why eat dead if you are alive?

Am I a food addict? No. Not even close. I have gone overboard with this chocolate habit indeed and I know that if I am to reach my health goals, I will need to chocolate responsibly. The issue that I have with mainstream teaching about addiction is that you will never be cured and you must always subscribe to a program that will keep you in remission.

I believe that God is a healer, and although programs and services are often necessary for those who are addicted to substances including alcohol and drugs, I do believe that it is possible to receive total healing from anything.

100 Days Without Chocolate

Beginning August 1, 2012 I will put chocolate down. I believe that this is the last piece of the puzzle, at least in this season to being my best self. This means that this blog will also change (for the next one hundred days). I will invite foodies with recipes to please help me with ideas. I need them now! I get tired of making and eating the same concoctions repetitiously because I don’t have a large enough menu variety.

I will continue to write this blog from a personal perspective. Remember this is about Life, Love and Relationships too. I have spent some time on advocacy concerning child sexual abuse awareness, healing and prevention. As I heal, and sharing stories of over-comers I realize that we must look healed too. Now, there is nothing wrong with being thick, or overweight but I ask you to do an internal inquiry to make sure that you are being your best self.

And, when I ask myself that question the answer is no. My inner athleticism is screaming to get out and I am going to work my way back to full court basketball, swimming, and bicycling. My body wants me to make the change but my soul had to be ready for the transitions that will come.

Beginning August 1, 2012 I will begin working out in someone’s gym, backyard, car hood, or tree! This must happen and the only exception is pregnancy. It will delay but not deter the final goal.

Hold me accountable and feel free to join in with your own personal goals. I do not intend to diet. I do not believe in dieting. I do not want to be the biggest loser, and then gain all of my weight back because of eating habits.

I am taking a holistic approach. You have to remember, even Vegans love chocolate! As I say, chocolate is from God, it just seems sinful but it is awesome! I am taking something out, and replacing it with working out. I already eat well with appropriate portions.

Pineapple Juice is 100% and One Of My Secret Ingredients

This is for me to change my way of thinking and to exercise balance and moderation in my whole life. Balance and moderation were the two words that I heard concerning the start of my natural hair dreadlocks, and balance and moderation are the two words that keep appearing concerning my ministry.

In order to be truly effective and operate as my best self, I will need to apply these two principles to my physical body and not my spirit and soul alone. Come on, let’s BE. Extraordinary!

Dr. Ressurrection Graves is an author, conference speaker, and conference creator of ‘A Journey To Love’. Dr. Graves has an Honorary Doctorate in Divinity, and offers ministerial counseling services as a relationship mentor. She is currently accepting keynote, conference and media related speaking engagements and attending the Benny Hinn School of Ministry. For More About Ressurrection please click here

About Ressurrection

Ressurrection Graves is a Child Sexual Abuse Grooming Expert and H.E.A.L.E.R. (Healer, Educator, Activist, Life Skills Expert, Empowerment Speaker, Relationship Mentor) Her website reaches readership in 188 countries. She is available for national speaking engagements, radio and television interviews. She can be reached at: 202.717.7377 or send your request to: ressurrection dot wordpress at yahoo dot com or comment on http://www.ressurrection.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Child Sexual Abuse, My thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What did you think of this Article? Was it Helpful?

