Soaked in Open: A CSA Poem

I woke up last week, wanting to write a poem in honor of Child Abuse Prevention Month. April is also National Poetry Month. Here it is.

Un-Elevated; paralyzed by snares

Hallucinating aloneness; empty by capacity-

in fact we’re fashionably hidden,

sentenced by crime;

unaware of confinement in a catastrophe

with small self mutilating incisions – completely livid inside.

I remember.

Being fingered at four.

Yeah, I know it wasn’t my fault;

being kissed like an adult

woman.

I remember the sores.

And because this design of the brain was not God intended,

I experienced a lifetime of pain in those six minutes.

Whether I forgive him or not,

my life was finished.

A new experience began, where that one ended.

My mind was different,

but I didn’t understand why.

A true fortune teller,

God visited me at nine.

He gave me a language to which I can rely,

showed me things that helped me to develop untied.

Nothing hocus pocus, I’m talkin’ soaked in OPEN.

– Ressurrection Graves

Author, Speaker, Poet

Child Sexual Abuse Advocate

Relationship Mentor

 

About Ressurrection

Ressurrection Graves is a Child Sexual Abuse Grooming Expert and H.E.A.L.E.R. (Healer, Educator, Activist, Life Skills Expert, Empowerment Speaker, Relationship Mentor) Her website reaches readership in 188 countries. She is available for national speaking engagements, radio and television interviews. She can be reached at: 202.717.7377 or send your request to: ressurrection dot wordpress at yahoo dot com or comment on http://www.ressurrection.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Child Sexual Abuse, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Soaked in Open: A CSA Poem

  1. Potent. Powerful. OPEN!
    Thank you.

  2. gigoid says:

    Reblogged this on gigoid and commented:
    A very real, very painful, very powerful, and ultimately hopeful poem…. please share….

  3. nikky44 says:

    “completely livid inside” That is how I still feel now!
    Happy Easter!

  4. willowdot21 says:

    That is just blinding. So honest so truthful!

  5. willowdot21 says:

    You have inspired me to write a poem too yours was just so sad but it made me want to do something too.! Thank you for following my blog.

    • I’m sorry. I thought the poem was actually light lol. Thank you and I am glad that you are inspired. We should all be inspired to do something! Please come back and share it with me. Peace, Res

What did you think of this Article? Was it Helpful?

