How Sundi Jo Lost 145lbs After Championing Child Sexual Abuse

Sundi Jo Child Sexual Abuse Victor

“I didn’t tell people because I was told to keep it a secret. I was a very good secret keeper. I was a teenager the first time it ever came out, but I didn’t tell the complete story until a few years ago.” – Sundi Jo

Sundi Jo born and raised in Missouri, is a woman born of self-proclaimed Hippie parents who thought it would be cool to name their daughter something a little different. I looked in biblical concordance English only (not Hebrew or Greek translations), and I looked through an internet search for the meaning of Sundi, and well, there is one thing clear to me; Sundi Jo was born to create her own mark. People will know her name by the definition she creates for it through the perceptions of her character and contributions to this life.

I am very intrigued by the meanings of names. For example, Ressurrection means to Stand Up; to Stand Out; To Be Set Apart. I know, you thought of the action that is believed to be what Jesus did, as others in the bible. What makes Jesus so special was not just rising again, but why he rose again. I’m not the only one fascinated by miracles!

Sundi Jo lost 145 pounds after realizing that she had built an unbearable wall between herself and others in a successful effort to close out those she feared; men. She was sexually abused from age four to eight by three different perpetrators. She was raped as a teenager.

 “I weighed 330 lbs. when I was 25 and tried to be tough, but I was scared to death.” -Sundi Jo

In Sundi’s journey she has risen from the table, snatched a microphone from the enemy and declares through speaking engagements that we are able to overcome anything including the debilitating effects of child sexual abuse, and gluttony.

She accepts speaking engagements, one titled Breaking the Chains: No More Secrets offers encouragement to parents, to talk about child sexual abuse with their children. She also brings awareness to victims to become silent no more. In her other Keynote, she offers Step Away from that Diet: Ten Steps to Losing Weight and Gaining the Confidence You’ve Been Searching For Food is all around us, she says. In this presentation, she dishes the goods (no pun intended!) Sundi Jo tells us how to lose the weight without going under the knife.

One of the testimonies that I received for my memoir, Identity Crisis, Identity Christ Is: A Journey to Love was that it prompted the woman to go back to her family, settle the pain of the child sexual abuse, forgive and resulted in a one hundred pound weight loss. Not everyone who is overweight should be scolded or looked at in a negative way. Some people gain the weight and haven’t made it a priority to get it off – like me! I am happy with myself and I love myself. I know that when I am ready I will do it. If you are nodding in agreement, this blog is not for you.

There are women who are overweight because like Sundi Jo, they are building walls to keep people out. I heard my fiance and best friend talking one day, and they said that sometimes homeless women will go without showers and smell as horrible as possible to keep men from desiring to rape them. Unfortunately in the sickness of society that exists we cannot confirm that this method will always work however this kind of dedication to protecting one’s self is as clear as Sundi Jo’s effort to mask herself in a way that she perceived would keep others from wanting to harm her.

“Secrets Make You Sick.” – Sundi Jo

In my opinion, you have to know your true worth to think whether consciously or unconsciously that you should mask yourself to create an unlikable image. I am sure that I will not stand alone when I say that sometimes we know our own worth, but can become discouraged by the way that others dehumanize us.

You are beautiful. And you deserve to be unmasked; to live out loud as your best self. If you are carrying the weight of abuse, then I charge you with the priority to unveil yourself. Take the weight off so that you too can enjoy the liberties that come with being yourself.

Sundi Jo

Sundi Jo is an author, speaker, and social media marketing manager, making her home in Branson, Missouri. She blogs at sundijo.com. Her first book, Dear Dad, Did You Know I Was a Princess?, comes out this fall. You’ll find her engulfed in the social media world, spending time with friends and family, hanging out in a pair of jeans, t-shirt, and flip fops, or writing. Find Sundi Jo at sundijoonfacebook.com or Twitter (@sundijo).

About Ressurrection

Ressurrection Graves is a Child Sexual Abuse Grooming Expert and H.E.A.L.E.R. (Healer, Educator, Activist, Life Skills Expert, Empowerment Speaker, Relationship Mentor) Her website reaches readership in 188 countries. She is available for national speaking engagements, radio and television interviews. She can be reached at: 202.717.7377 or send your request to: ressurrection dot wordpress at yahoo dot com or comment on http://www.ressurrection.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Child Sexual Abuse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to How Sundi Jo Lost 145lbs After Championing Child Sexual Abuse

  1. rtd14 says:

    Wonderful story! Very uplifting, and I look forward to her book!

  2. Inspiring as always. Your name, Resurrection, suits and unveils you perfectly.

  3. I used a punk rock image in high school as a way to make myself less attractive to the grown men I was afraid of. It kept me safe until I was strong enough to heal more and build my self confidence. The key is knowing when a wall no longer serves you.

  4. nikky44 says:

    Joined her page!! Thank you very much !

  5. Pingback: Moving Forward: Child Sexual Abuse Prevention Month in Review 2012 | Love, Life, and Relationships: Overcoming Emotional and Child Sexual Abuse

  6. Pingback: My Journey To Chocolate Responsibly: One Hundred Days Without Chocolate | Love, Life, and Relationships: Overcoming Emotional and Child Sexual Abuse

  7. Pingback: Clayton Griffin – Child Rapist And Five Ways To Know You May Be Dating A Child Predator | Love, Life, and Relationships: Overcoming Emotional and Child Sexual Abuse

What did you think of this Article? Was it Helpful?

