FILM: That’s My Boy – A Comedy Starring Adam Sandler Or Sexual Assault Of A Minor?

Adam Sandler is starring in, That’s My Boy, a movie about a thirteen-year old who has sexual fantasies of his teacher, and gets to fulfill them. He has sex with her, she is sent to prison, and he becomes a horrible father, and an irresponsible alcoholic.

I hate when people spoil movies for me. So much in fact that I will not go see a movie ever, if someone tells me any part of the movie that creates an image in my mind that makes me feel like I know the movie. Extreme? Maybe.

I promise that I am not being hypocritical in sharing this upcoming movie with you. Why you ask? Because I do not want you to watch it, in fact I am writing this because as comical as I find Adam Sandler, the trailer to the movie immediately made me think of Mary Kate Letourneau.

Mary Kate Letourneau and the sixth grade student that she had a relationship with. They are now married. She 50, and he 29!

She was a school teacher who had sex with a student. They professed their love for one another but that was not enough. She served six and a half years for having sex with the sixth grade student.

In my research, I also found that their was a movie called, All American Girl that was based on the Mary Kate Letourneau sexual assaults. I was uncomfortable watching it for sixty seconds consecutively so I decided not to show it here. I am assuming that by making the movie we would somehow find this behavior acceptable.

In this video she justifies that “he wasn’t my student anymore.” He was thirteen and she was thirty-three approximately. This means that I would have to be attracted to someone who could be my son. The fact that in her mind, it was acceptable to be attracted to someone who had not gone through puberty is scary to me. It makes perfect sense that he was attracted to her, and even that he would try his hand to pursue her because he is a child; immature, underdeveloped mentally and has a crush on a teacher.

However, in order for the teacher to accept these advances, she had to have interest beyond reason. And in this video she makes it seem like she was his age, a little school girl who was willing to give up everything for her class mate. She believes that she was heavily pursued but the truth is, in the video she said that when she first saw him she thought that it was going to be trouble. This establishes that she was attracted to him.

In this film with Adam Sandler, sex with his teacher is perpetuated as acceptable. As with American influence, it would not surprise me if more young boys tried their hands to see if their teacher will actually give them a chance to have sex with them and live out their boyish crush fantasies. We will find out who the predators are when this happens because it will open the door for sexual abuse more wide-spread within the school systems.

I believe that it is a mistake and a set back to the child sexual abuse advocacy community to allow this movie to be aired.

When we take a serious matter and laugh about it, we diminish the seriousness of the issue. If you look at the video, you’ll see that her father was a Congressman who lost everything including his presidential election possibility when he too had an affair with a student.

You May Also Like: Make Child Sexual Abuse Grooming A Felony

It is sexist, to assume that a boy is to be praised for his conquests. Here is something that I have discovered, boys are running almost neck and neck with girls in reporting child sexual abuse. They are psychologically damaged, turning to alcohol and drugs, and they are being diagnosed with mental illnesses because it is not just sex or a conquest, it is child sexual abuse. Coincidentally, or not, Mary Kate was diagnosed manic depression also known as bipolar. In the video, it states that her decision making could be off, and that she could choose a relationship with a young boy.

In the Adam Sandler movie preview there was dialogue between Sandler and his estranged son Andy Sambery (of course these are not the characters names), however in that conversation Sandler blames his inability to be a good parent on his age, and teenage fatherhood. When you are a teen parent, it is no doubt a hard task but for this movie to give age an excuse, is unacceptable. I was a teen parent. In the movie, like Letourneau she went to prison and he was left to raise the children.

What I don’t like is that his comments made it seem like it would have been better for the predator to be home from prison. It made it seem like there was a lot of responsibility put on this child to raise a child. And what of his alcoholism?

I really think that this movie is going to send the wrong messages to young boys, and even supporters of child sexual abuse; predators. This movie is due to come out June 15th, just in time for Father’s Day.

Adam Sandler Movie Sexual Assault and Teen Father

Here is the article that inspired this post. Click Here

And, here is an article that is written for the Lil’ Wayne Community about his Child Sexual Abuse. It is a fantastic article if I do say so myself. You can Click Here

Please SUBSCRIBE ——–>>>.

Written By: Ressurrection Graves

About Ressurrection

Ressurrection Graves is a Child Sexual Abuse Grooming Expert and H.E.A.L.E.R. (Healer, Educator, Activist, Life Skills Expert, Empowerment Speaker, Relationship Mentor) Her website reaches readership in 188 countries. She is available for national speaking engagements, radio and television interviews. She can be reached at: 202.717.7377 or send your request to: ressurrection dot wordpress at yahoo dot com or comment on http://www.ressurrection.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Child Sexual Abuse, Teenage Moms, The Parent Lounge Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to FILM: That’s My Boy – A Comedy Starring Adam Sandler Or Sexual Assault Of A Minor?

  1. jannatwrites says:

    This is the first I’ve heard of the movie, but it doesn’t sound like something I’d be interested in watching. It is rather ironic that it would be released around Father’s Day.

  2. victoriapendragon says:

    This seems like one of those bad ideas that I’ll simply have to watch at some point in able to be fully able to comment on it.
    Yes, it surely based on a very, very bad idea and the idea that one makes comedy based on such a thing seems reprehensible…but Adam Sandler is known for making movies with ‘a message,’ sneaking ‘lessons’ in the back door…and I’d want to withhold judgment until I am satisfied that this is the sort of mindless idiocy that bypasses morality and common sense and can, these days, pass for humor.

    • I love this comment. I don’t know his work well enough to assume that their may be a lesson slipped in but I like this idea as an option. I just don’t want there to be a message so subliminal that children do not get it. They will take away the action of sex with a teacher. Thanks so much for commenting!

  3. It saddens me how perverse films are getting and how much people are getting desensitized over it. There is definitely something wrong in this world.

  4. James says:

    it’s nice to know I’m not the only one disgusted at this movie.
    I’m 30 and at 15 I was seduced by a cruel manipulative 32 year old woman who used me to get pregnant and kept me as her toy for the next 7 years, in that time I lost all my friends, became addicted to drugs and alcohol and lived a life of isolation in a constant state of depression until I finally had the courage to escape her (until that time I believed I was pathetic and lazy stoner and that nobody would want me) I have custody of my daughter now who is 13 and have recently asked the Police to investigate, her response has been to try and blackmail and manipulate me and everyone involved, although she is my daughters mother I have nothing bat hatered and resentment towards her and all her friends (that did nothing to help me) who told me I should be a man and grow up, I lost my teenage years, I never had teenage years because of this selfish disgusting act. Although I have custody of my daughter for her own good I have never bonded with her and still have a lot of resentment towards her because of how she came about. This movie makes light of a situation that is far from amusing!

What did you think of this Article? Was it Helpful?