Don’t be the missing parent Part Three

We won the championships while I was there and the girl I saw tonight was the star player. I remember now, me with my trash- talkin’- self told her she wasn’t a better player than me. A coach agreed! We played and she wasn’t better than me! HA! Well, I told her that!

She went on to play for Duke or Perdue. I played street ball with people who played oversees and who got picked up in the WNBA! I played with the men mostly.

Arlington has some amazing residents. Long story short, on the way home tonight I realized that what really made the difference was her home life!

At every game she had her family cheering for her. At every game! I couldn’t find my siblings. My brother that I am closest to who taught me the game, eventually disappeared to live his own life by the time I got to high school.

What am I saying to you? It was LOVE that made the difference! This star player I’m talking about is married with a son and works for the school she took to the championship. Love made the difference.

If your child has a game, get off your keester and get there! Put away your blackberry and prepare to get hoarse.

I pray that my efforts help my nephew to have the confidence to show them our family name for real. Your have to read my book “Identity Crisis, Identity Christ Is: A Journey to Love” to learn about the relationship between my brother and I and how he coached me.

To that little click of parents who tried to make my nephew feel small, I’m going to tell you like my brother taught me, “This is my House!” Every rebound, every loose ball, every drive to the paint. My brother taught me that and I will teach my nephew.

Before the end of the season, they will include him in the team, they won’t have a choice. Let’s see who makes varsity next year!

But until then, the fact that I am up writing this in the middle of the night means two things, I am indeed ready to coach and there will absolutely be more basketball blogging going down.

There is yet another phrase that I always say. Yep, you guessed it! Love is an action word. Only what you so for GOD I.e, LOVE will last. Your kids don’t know you love them because you feed them and clothe them. Those are called responsibilities. They know you love them because you show up. Don’t be the missing parent.

www.ressurrection.wordpress.com

About Ressurrection

Ressurrection Graves is a Child Sexual Abuse Grooming Expert and H.E.A.L.E.R. (Healer, Educator, Activist, Life Skills Expert, Empowerment Speaker, Relationship Mentor) Her website reaches readership in 188 countries. She is available for national speaking engagements, radio and television interviews. She can be reached at: 202.717.7377 or send your request to: ressurrection dot wordpress at yahoo dot com or comment on http://www.ressurrection.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Family Ties, Relationships, Teenage Moms, The Parent Lounge Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What did you think of this Article? Was it Helpful?