Why you should put education before your boyfriend

Education should always come first over your boyfriend being that it’s what’s going to make sure you can support yourself if things were to fall through with you and your boyfriend.

When you take the stand to put education first you have a feeling of accomplishment knowing that when you’re done with high school you can move forward successfully with or without him around.

I took the stand to put education before my boyfriend and it showed a huge difference, we didn’t have time to get in pointless arguments anymore because I was always focused on taking the next step in my education. I also cut out half of the time that I spent on the phone with him at night because that could be time spent to get rest and or complete any other assignments due in the upcoming weeks. In with this I noticed I stopped falling asleep in class and I was more alert than ever. I didn’t realize until now how much time and value he took up.

Last year I didn’t take this stand so I began to fall back in certain classes and not challenge myself enough in other classes. The late night conversations and the after school bonding really held me up.

He didn’t think anything was wrong because I simply didn’t tell him my grades were beginning to slip because of him. His grades were effected too although he just didn’t care about his grades as much as I did.

If you are someone who is experiencing failure in some classes or falling behind due to not putting education before your boyfriend I’d encourage you to think about your future and if living off of your parents or even in the street is an option then continue on the road of unhealthy behavior .

But if you decide you would like to take the same stand as I did and create effective steps toward your future I encourage you to cut out any excess phone time or on those weekends you aren’t doing anything take a moment and think to yourself.

Have you read a book or studied for that test on Monday? Simple actions like these will help to create a positive future with or without your partner.

Thank you,

Dae’Jah Cymone

Teen Contributor

About Ressurrection

Ressurrection Graves is a Child Sexual Abuse Grooming Expert and H.E.A.L.E.R. (Healer, Educator, Activist, Life Skills Expert, Empowerment Speaker, Relationship Mentor) Her website reaches readership in 188 countries. She is available for national speaking engagements, radio and television interviews. She can be reached at: 202.717.7377 or send your request to: ressurrection dot wordpress at yahoo dot com or comment on http://www.ressurrection.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Relationships, Teen Dating Relationships: Violence and Emotional Wellness, Teenage Moms, The Parent Lounge Blog, The Power of Saying NO! and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why you should put education before your boyfriend

  1. unikeone says:

    This young lady has made a wise decision that will definitely make a difference in her future. It is sometimes very hard for teens to understand the value of education because of all the other things happening around them and peer pressure but in the end when you are willing to put yourself first and get your own life in order, in the future you have much more for you and for that special someone who will earn the honor to be your life partner. I applaud your wisdom and courage…good job mom (Ressurrection).

  2. So True Indeed. I believe it should come first when it comes to boyfriend! You made some good points. Thank you for the follow! God Bless!

    Welcome to 2012, I hope you started off with bang! 🙂

  3. TJ says:

    I remember those days in high school when I also went from almost straight A’s to almost failing. It was that one boyfriend, that one year, he had no goals, no motivation to do anything but clowning and being cute. When you get older, cute don’t pay the bills. Our kids have got to take their education seriously. Education lays the foundation for where you can go and what you can do it life. Good job on this blog, keep your eyes on the prize girl! 🙂

    • TJ Thank you so much for commenting. I am sharing comments with her. She is being a blessing with her blogs, feel free to share, as I hope they inspire other teens… and us too! 🙂

  4. Pingback: How do I tell my boyfriend to stop buying me things? | The Official BLOG site of Ressurrection Graves

What did you think of this Article? Was it Helpful?

